News

2012 NZAS Councillors honoured

The Association congratulates the following Council members, whose contributions to science have been recognised as follows,

Shaun Hendy (President)

Prime Minister's Science Media Communication Prize

For his communication and commentary on the links between science and technology and economic prosperity

Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand

For his significant, sustained contribution in the application of mathematical and computational techniques to the chemical and physical sciences

Royal Society of New Zealand Callaghan Medal

For his outstanding work raising public awareness of science and its role in increasing economic awareness.

Justin Hodgkiss

Asian and Oceanian Photochemistry Association Young Scientist Prize

For his excellent contributions to time-resolved spectroscopy of photogeneration processes in organic photovoltaic cells

Kate McGrath (Past President, who stepped down from Council during 2012)

Grow Wellington Award (with Natasha Evans)

To further research into creating lighter and more durable joint replacements